this is why man invented a food processor: hummus

Well, it’s summertime in the scorching Midwest. Do I feel like being in the kitchen more than necessary? Oh, no WAY. Lunching on some Ryvita and hummus with the air conditioning on full blast is utter luxury! I found myself buying hummus, over and over again. And I felt a little like Goldilocks…this one’s too salty…this one’s too runny…this one’s too lemony – well, then you know it’s time to make it yourself. And it’s easy as your ABC’s.

  • 2 cans of chickpeas;
  • tahini;
  • olive oil;
  • 2 cloves of garlic;
  • lemon juice; and
  • kosher salt

Honestly, I didn’t have any olive oil. I didn’t have lemon juice either. Processed the garlic first. Then, I put everything that I did have (chickpeas, salt, tahini) in the food processor and let it rip! Easy, easy easy. It’s like a bad infomercial. Where has this been my whole life?

6 responses to “this is why man invented a food processor: hummus

  1. OK, so your half way to the true revelation now. Try using dried chickpeas instead of canned ones.
    And add a pinch of cumin.
    And give us a visit sometime, would ya?

  2. Well, I agree about the dried v. canned – but, I didn’t have time to boil the chickpeas myself. That is also far more frugal! Cumin – I’ll have to try.

  3. I use a blender because that’s the only way I can get it smooth enough.

    toss in 1/4 cup each: olive oil, fresh squeezed lime juice, and tahini. (I don’t measure out the tahini, I just toss in a big glop from a spoon.) Add at least one clove of garlic and 1 tsp. kosher salt. Blend. Then slowly add in 1 and 1/2 cups of chickpeas, a little at a time. This is about a 15.5 oz can, but I use dried ones, pressure cooked for 1 hour, 15 minutes. Pulse, adding water if needed to make a paste as thick as possible, but thin enough to blend without having to stop and stir down everything. Done.

    I plate this by making a little well in the hummus and adding more olive oil and a bit of chinese hot oil. I then sprinkle with a 50/50 mix of cheap chili powder and cumin.

    problems with store bought: not tangy enough, not enough tahini, no olive oil, citric acid instead of lemon or lime juice, or just the fact that this junk is $3.99 for a 7 oz tub, that’s like paying $3.99 for a processed box of grains.

  4. Coool! Sounds like you really know what you are doing!!! I’ll have to try it your way someday :-)! Storebought – well, you are so right – can NEVER compare!

  5. what kind of food processor should i buy? i have a vitamix & am wondering if i need a food processor – for more than just hummus. will i use it? hummus in the vitamix works in small batches. i cup dried chickpeas max.

Leave a Reply

