Parsley Pesto: the magic of hacking

Parsley Pesto Rigatoni

One of my friends told me that you can make a nice pesto with parsley – good to know when basil is not available or is overly pricey – like, in the winter! Swapping the one herb for another is an easy hack that still yields good results: a beautiful, tasty sauce.

More than anything else, I see this as a vehicle for garlic. The following is the merest of recipes…well, it’s just a reflection of what I did to make this happen.

Parsley Pesto

  • 1 bunch of parsley;
  • fresh walnuts;
  • four, five or six garlic cloves (no first dates after eating this);
  • olive oil; (I’m still in love with that Gata Hurdes)
  • spreadable butter (with canola, salted);
  • vegetable oil;
  • Whole Foods 365 sea salt;
  • Tillamook 2-year old White Cheddar, crumbled;
  • Kraft Parmesan; and
  • cracked black pepper.

I cut off the parsley stems before putting a bunch in the food processor. (You must use a food processor for this prep, or you will go batty.) Probably I put in about a 1/2 cup of walnuts. Then the olive oil, garlic, cheeses, salt and pepper. And of course I had to taste it and adjust at every step of the way. You might not want the pepper but I find that it carries the bite of the garlic a little further.

frozen pesto

By the way, this pesto freezes like a dream (as seen above in the Gladware). I made it, froze it, and microwaved it for like 30 seconds at a time to revive it – this is mostly fat, so you might want to be cautious about re-heating to avoid overcooking (perhaps 10 seconds at a time would be the more responsible approach). All I had to do was boil up some pasta.

For myself, I served it with some rigatoni. To increase the cuteness factor, I tossed it with some farfalle (bowtie) so that I could bring it to a work potluck. And yes, I got compliments. You can too!

2 responses to “Parsley Pesto: the magic of hacking

  1. Hey, thanks for your comment. I love your blog! Just wanted to add that you can make pesto out of spinach, or artichoke hearts, too. I like the spinach, because it is cheaper if you don’t grow your own basil. I never saw the parsley though, I’ll have to try that!

  2. Nice looking pesto. You can also make a nice version with sun dried tomatoes which is awesome on pasta.

Leave a Reply

