Junk food, and the salvation of Turkey Jook (a.k.a., rice porridge, xifan, congee, juk, okayu)

Question: is it wise to eat pizza, chocolate-covered rice crispy bars, spicy blue corn chips and other junk food exemplars for days and days on end…even if you feel like being lazy? Answer: No! My concern for all I’ve ingested leads me to attempt some salvation. Traditionally restorative, I am hoping that six thousand years of tradition in jook will come to my aid. To that end, I made a brown rice version for the first time. (I’m no stranger to white rice jook.)


Turkey Cabbage Brown Rice Jook

  • 3 turkey legs, washed;
  • 1 very small cabbage, sliced broadly;
  • 1 large onion, sliced broadly;
  • 1 1/2 cups of brown rice;
  • 1 cup of dry shitake mushrooms;
  • dashes of ngouc mam; and
  • 7 cups of water.

For garnish/to taste:

  • dashes of soy sauce;
  • minced green onion;
  • sea salt; and
  • sesame oil.

Soak the dried mushrooms in warm water for about 1 hr. Throw all ingredients, except the garnish items into the slow cooker for 7 hours at LOW. I did this right before going to bed one night. I woke up to this savory, soothing breakfast. And darn it, I feel good about it!

P.S. I’m still giving away that curry powder to a lucky someone…could be you!

One response to “Junk food, and the salvation of Turkey Jook (a.k.a., rice porridge, xifan, congee, juk, okayu)

  1. I cooked plain jook this morning. Yours looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

