South Asian Foods, giving you halwa puri, yes, in Fridley, MN (blissful altar of breakfast post #3)

south asian foods, in fridley, mn

south asian foods, in fridley, mn

Somewhere, off of Highway 694 I believe, you can find a grocery catering to the South Asian palate. That’s right, in the middle of nowheresville, a.k.a., Fridley, Minnesota, you can find a tiny, teeny shop selling toor dal, sambal and the like. Bangladeshi, Indian, Pakistani, and other people patronize the store.

I took a special field trip there with one of my friends, an Indian national, pining for some tolerably authentic food for breakfast. He said it was OK that it was Pakistani. On Saturday mornings you can buy an inexpensive breakfast (somewhere under $6.00 I think) – halwa puri – including rice, dal, halwa, puri, and other nice things. It takes a LOT to get me up on a Saturday morning, but my friend threatened me by saying that if we did not get there by 9:30 a.m., none would be left. So, I went. I saw. I ate. It was SO good. Smells great when you go in, too.

If you find yourself pining for a good breakfast on a Saturday morning to remind you of the old country, look no further than South Asian Foods!

(post #3 in a series of posts about BREAKFAST!)

South Asian Foods
765 53rd Ave. NE
Fridley, MN 55421
(763) 586-9800

6 responses to “South Asian Foods, giving you halwa puri, yes, in Fridley, MN (blissful altar of breakfast post #3)

  1. Seriously, please don’t ever stop writing this blog. The pictures, recipes, ideas all inspire me. Please.

  2. thanks for the sweet compliment :-)!

  3. Pingback: Love Letter to the Twin Cities « Dude, where’s the stove?

  4. Love this place! The Halwa Puri is great, and the bollywood movies being played on the TV in the background make this place heavenly!

  5. Oh my gosh! I’m so happy to meet another fan of it! Let me know if you ever take photos of the store…I’d love to post them!

  6. If I take photos of the store I’ll be sure to let you know. In the meantime, this will help, or maybe hurt as it will cause a craving that can’t be immediately satiated. 🙂

    http://www.southasianfoods.com/food.php

    Looks like their website has been altered, but there used to be some photos of the deli and store on the site.

Leave a Reply

