My Bento with Latvian Sprats (shproti, šprotes) and Pretty Flowers

There’s a spat over sprats, between exporter Latvia and importer Russia. The sprat, a fish no larger than 16 centimenters, attracts the great affection of the global Latvian diaspora. Yes, yes, it’s important to millions of people, including little old me, because I adore having it in my bento. Here’s a picture of the Riga sprats.

Anyways, I thought I’d take a picture and show my bento (going clockwise from the upper right corner): sprats; spinach, rolled up; teeny tiny shrimp and seaweed furikake; kimchi; and two gigantic Medjool dates in the middle.

I’ve also decided that a really nice part of the lunch ritual, if available, should include looking at pretty things – like flowers, art, etc. These flowers made me happy, and I kinda counted them as a sort of “dessert,” supplementing my bento.

3 responses to “My Bento with Latvian Sprats (shproti, šprotes) and Pretty Flowers

  1. Looks yummy. I’ve just recently stumbled upon sprats, and even more recently been introduced to the existence of Riga Sprats. Looks like I need to get me some!

    I linked my blog post on sprats to yours. I hope you don’t mind.
    http://blackcealt.blogspot.com/2008/03/shat-really.html

    And I agree, the lunch ritual should include looking at pretty things, like flowers 🙂

  2. I actually think there is not enough blogging about sprats, in the English language at least. The more, the merrier! Fans of sprat must unite!

  3. Pingback: Canned Fish is a Superstar II: Spinach & Sprats Fried Rice « Dude, where’s the stove?

Leave a Reply

