My Grandma’s Cranberry Salad – holiday recipe

People love this salad. It’s my third grandma’s. Red-headed woman from Nebraska. Force of nature. And cook extraordinaire. Here’s my rendition.

My Third Grandma’s Cranberry Salad

  • 1 bag of fresh cranberries;
  • 1 cup of chopped walnuts;
  • 3 organic navel oranges, sectioned and chopped broadly after removing pith and skin – save the skin for zest*;
  • 3 Granny Smith or other tart apples, chopped broadly (I like to leave the skin on for color);
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange zest;
  • 1/4 cup of white sugar; and
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon.

Wash the fresh cranberries. Throw out any berries that are discolored or soft. Throw them into the food processor. Put them into a mixing bowl and add everything else. Mix. Be sure to taste-test for sweetness – you might want more or less sugar. Refrigerate overnight (if possible). At least for 4 hours, to let it all come together. Enjoy!

Thanksgiving 2012 Update: check out the sauce for this salad!

Photo credit: a friend’s son took the picture above (and I cropped the picture to make for the extreme closeup effect) at my friend’s 2007 Christmas party, where I served this salad. I think I also served it at their 2006 Thanksgiving!

*I like for these to be organic especially because I am using the zest, and I’m guessing the peel has the greatest potential for exposure to pesticides and herbicides.

12 responses to “My Grandma’s Cranberry Salad – holiday recipe

  1. Oh thank you, thank you!!! I’m not typically a cranberry fan but these cranberries will knock your socks off with the perfect combination of walnuts, apples and cinnamon! Even our 9 year old was asking for more at Christmas! It will be a tradition now–and hopefully you’ll venture back to the Minnesota tundra to share it with us!

  2. Pingback: Tropical Influenced Fruit Salad (major hit with no added sugar!) « Dude, where’s the stove?

  3. Pingback: Subversive Peanut Butter Fudge/Halva (under $.03 per serving) « Dude, where’s the stove?

  4. Pingback: Mango Kanten « Dude, where’s the stove?

  5. Pingback: Cranberry Salad « Untried Cookbook

  6. I am glad I found this cranberry recipe.
    Please keep writing.
    I sure miss reading your blog.

  7. Fresh, chunky, delicious! The cinnamon adds an interesting, subtle layer of taste.

  8. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Linky Love / Visiting Food Banks in the Land of Milk and Honey | Dude, where's the stove?

  9. Pingback: Gram’s Cranberry Salad Sauce | Dude, where's the stove?

Leave a comment